Meet our local chapter

Don Chynoweth, ICD.D - Co-Chair
President & CEO of StratPlan Management and Associates Inc.
Co-Chair since: 2020
Don is currently the President/CEO of StratPlan Management and Associates Inc. providing corporate strategy, operational advisory and corporate governance support services to clients in Canada and internationally.

Don is a Senior Executive with over 30 years experience in private and public sectors domestically and internationally.  He has significant Governance, Executive Management, Operational and Business Development background with publicly traded corporations, Governments, Crown Corporations, Regulated Utilities and First Nation entities.  His diverse industry experience includes domestic and international logistics, defence/ security support programs, commodity/ mining, electrical power transmission, healthcare insurance, aviation, military and government outsourcing , aboriginal business development and partnerships, energy and pipelines and operations and maintenance management sectors with corporations including SNC Lavalin, ATCO, Canadian Government, Saskatchewan Government and Enbridge.

Over the past decade Don has served on numerous for profit, not for profit, private and publically traded Boards of Directors including Alberta Blue Cross, Potash Corporation of Saskatchewan (now Nutrien), AltaLink (now Berkshire Hathaway Canada), Canadian Base Operators,  Hospice Calgary, Calgary Airport Business Advisory and Calgary Chamber of Commerce. 

Over the past 30 years Don has also served on several internal Executive / Board committees and International Board roles with his previous employers in Germany, France, USA and the Middle East where he was responsible for many of the Defence and Logistics support projects to the United Nations and North Atlantic Treaty Organization ( NATO) countries.
Don has previous / current Association membership and participation in the following entities, Institute of Corporate Directors (ICD), National Association of Corporate Directors (USA), Calgary Chamber of Commerce,  Canadian Construction Association,  Facilities Operations and Maintenance Association of Canada,  Canadian Defence Association, Global Business Forum- Banff Alberta and the CD Howe Institute.

Don is a graduate ( B. Comm) of the University of Saskatchewan and completed the Executive Management Program at Western University.  Don completed the Directors Education Program (DEP) in 2012  and is currently the Vice Co-Chair and will assume Co-Chair role 2020-2021.

Trudy Curran, ICD.D - Co-Chair
Director and Chair of Nominating and Governance Committee, Baytex Energy Corp.
Member, Alberta Securities Commission
Co-Chair since: 2020

Ms. Curran is a retired businesswoman with extensive experience in executive compensation, mergers and acquisitions, financing and governance. Currently, Ms. Curran is on the board and HRC committee of Baytex Energy and chairs its Nominating and Governance Committee. 

She is also a co Vice Chair of the Calgary chapter of the Institute of Corporate Directors and is a member of the Alberta Securities Commission. She most recently served on the board and as interim Managing Director and CEO of an Australian mining company. 

From 2002 to 2016, she served as an officer of Canadian Oil Sands Limited. As Senior Vice President, General Counsel & Corporate Secretary of Canadian Oil Sands Limited, she was responsible for legal, human resources and administration and a member of the executive team focused on strategy and risk management.

From 2003 to 2016, she was a director of Syncrude Canada Ltd., where she served as chair of the Human Resources and Compensation Committee and as a member of the Pension Committee.

Since leaving Canadian Oil Sands Limited, Ms. Curran focused a career as a board member, having served on the boards of Dominion Diamonds and Riversdale Resources in key chair roles of both companies that were sold to private equity investors at a premium to the market price.

Ms. Curran holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in English and a Bachelor of Laws degree (both with distinction) from the University of Saskatchewan and the ICD.D designation from the Institute of Corporate Directors.

Chapter Executive

Advisory Council

Don Chynoweth, ICD.D (Co-Chair) 
Trudy Curran, ICD.D (Co-Chair)
Dave McElhanney, ICD.D (Vice-Chair)
Catherine Connolly, ICD.D (Past Co-Chair)
Beth Reimer-Heck, ICD.D (Past Co-Chair)
Leontine Atkins, ICD.D
Pat Carlson, ICD.D
Richard Hillary, ICD.D
Gordon Kerr, ICD.D
Patricia McLeod, ICD.D
Scott Munn
Lisa M. Oldridge, ICD.D 
Randy Pettipas
Marilyn Schonberner, ICD.D
Maryse Saint-Laurent, ICD.D
Roy Whitney
Karen Young


Judith Athaide, ICD.D
Ian Bourne, F.ICD, ICD.D
Jim Dinning, F.ICD, ICD.D
Bonnie DuPont, F.ICD, ICD.D
Brian Felesky, ICD.D 
Randy Findlay, ICD.D
Allen Hagerman ICD.D 
Linda Hohol
Barry Jackson, F.ICD
Art Korpach, ICD.D
Rod McKay, ICD.D
Robert Pearce, ICD.D
Sarah Raiss, ICD.D 
Kathy Sendall 
Richard Shaw, ICD.D
Mac Van Wielingen, F.ICD 
Andrew Wiswell, ICD.D 

Administrative Contact: Shirley Yule

For more details on local events in this Chapter, visit: Chapter Events