Françoise Bertrand, O.C., C.Q.

Chair, VIA Rail and ProAction International
Vice-Chair, Concordia University
Director, Osisko Gold Royalties


After a 40-year career as a business executive, Françoise Bertrand now dedicates her time to acting as a corporate director.

Since spring 2017, Ms. Bertrand has served as chairperson on the Board of Directors of VIA Rail. She is also President of the Proaction International Board of Directors and serves on the Board of Osisko Gold Royalties. She is Vice-Chair of the Concordia University Board of Governors and serves on the boards of the United Nations Association in Canada and the Institute for Research on Public Policy.

Ms. Bertrand has served as President and Chief Executive Officer for several organizations, including the Fédération des chambres de commerce du Québec, the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission (CRTC) and the Télé-Québec broadcasting corporation. She was a senior manager at Université du Québec à Montréal, where she served as Dean, and was also a partner with the consulting firm Groupe Secor.

Ms. Bertrand has been recognized with several professional  honours, most notably, Officer of the Order of Canada, Knight of the National Order of Québec and Chevalier of the Legion of Honour of France.

Ms. Bertrand has a master’s degree in environmental studies from York University and has also received an honorary doctorate from Concordia University.

View Françoise Bertrand's ICD Fellowship Gala Video

Jim E.C. Carter, O.C.

Vice-Chair, ATB Financial
Chair, ATB Wealth
Director, Finning International, Irving Oil Ltd., Brand Industrial Services Inc., Ellis Don Construction Services Inc. 

Mr. James Carter retired from Syncrude Canada Ltd. in 2007 after 28 years, including 10 years as President and 18 years as Operations Chief. He currently serves on the Boards of Directors of Finning International, Irving Oil Limited, Brand Energy and Industrial Services, Alberta Treasury Branch Financial, Alberta Treasury Branch Investor Services and EllisDon Construction Services Inc.

Mr. Carter serves as board chair of Careers: The Next Generation, a not-for-profit organization. He is a former Chair of the Mining Association of Canada and board member of The Alberta Chamber of Resources.

Mr. Carter is an officer of the Order of Canada and has been awarded honourary doctorates by three Canadian universities. He is a registered professional engineer in the Province of Alberta and a Fellow of the Canadian Academy of Engineering.

Mr. Carter is a graduate of the Advanced Management Program at Harvard Graduate School of Business Administration in Boston, Massachusetts.

View Jim Carter's ICD Fellowship Gala Video

John M. Cassaday, C.M., LL.D.

Chair, Manulife Financial Corporation
Director, Sysco Corporation, Sleep Country Canada, Irving Oil. Ltd. 

JOHN CASSADAY was the founding President and Chief Executive Officer of Corus Entertainment Inc. until his retirement in April 2015. Prior to Corus, John was President of CTV Television Network and Campbell Soup Company in Canada and the U.K.

John is currently the Chair of Manulife Financial/John Hancock. He also sits on the Board of Sysco Corporation, Sleep Country Canada, and Irving Oil Ltd. John also served on the Board of Directors of Spin Master, Inc., Corus Entertainment Inc., Masonite International Corporation, J. M. Schneider Corporation, Canadian Airlines and Loblaw Companies Limited. He has also served on the Advisory Boards of Nestle Canada and IBM Canada. John recently served on the Board of Directors of the Canadian Council of Chief Executives, was the Chair of the Dean’s Advisory Board of the Rotman School of Management, and was the Chair of the 1995 United Way Campaign for Metro Toronto and Chair of the Board of St. Michael’s Hospital.

John holds an MBA from the Rotman School of Management and, in 1998, was recognized with their Distinguished Alumni Award. In June 2017, John was presented with a degree of Doctor of Laws, honoris causa from the University of Toronto.

John Cassaday is a Member of the Order of Canada and a recipient of the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee Medal.

View John Cassaday's ICD Fellowship Gala Video

Heather Munroe-Blum, O.C., O.Q., Ph.D

Chair, Canada Pension Plan Investment Board (CPPIB)
Director, Royal Bank of Canada 


Dr. Heather Munroe-Blum served for over a decade as Principal and Vice Chancellor (President) of McGill University, the first woman to serve in the role.

She is the former Vice-President (Research and International Relations) of the University of Toronto and currently holds the position of Chairperson of the Canada Pension Plan Investment Board (CPPIB). She is Director of the Royal Bank of Canada (former Chair of Corporate Governance) and CGI Group. She is Vice-Chair of the Gairdner Foundation, Co-Founder and Co-Chair of the Canadian Children's Literacy Foundation (CCLF), Member of the Advisory Boards of Stanford University’s Center for Advanced Study in the Behavioral Sciences (CASBS), McGill’s Tanenbaum Open Science Institute (TOSI), McGill’s Bensadoun School of Retail Management, and the Trilateral Commission.

Dr. Munroe-Blum is the recipient of numerous domestic and international honorary degrees and awards of distinction, including Officer of the Order of Canada, Officer of the Order of Quebec, and a Specially Elected Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada.

View Heather Munroe-Blum's ICD Fellowship Gala Video