ICD names 2009 Fellowship Award Recipients

Jan 13, 2009

The Institute of Corporate Directors (ICD) is pleased to announce the following four Canadian business leaders as recipients of the 2009 ICD Fellowship Awards: Douglas D. Baldwin, B.Sc, LL.D, Chairman, Talisman Energy Inc. (Calgary, AB); Robert Després, OC, GOQ, M.Sc, FCMA, Chairman, Cominar (Quebec, QC); Dallas J. Howe, MA, Chair, Potash Corporation of Saskatchewan Inc. (Saskatoon, SK); and Eileen Mercier, MA, MBA, Board Chair, Ontario Teacher's Pension Plan (Toronto, ON).

The ICD confers Fellowship Awards annually to a prominent group of individuals who continually distinguish themselves by bringing exceptional corporate governance leadership to boardrooms throughout the country.

"ICD Fellows are role models for excellence in governance," said ICD Fellowship Selection Committee Chair William (Bill) Dimma. "At a time when we need more leadership, oversight and corporate wisdom, the Institute of Corporate Directors is delighted to recognize the significant accomplishments of these four outstanding Canadian directors."

The 12th Annual ICD Fellowship Awards will be presented during a gala celebration on Thursday, June 4, 2009 at the Fairmont Royal York Hotel (Toronto). Tickets for the event can be purchased by calling the ICD at 1-877-593-7741, or online at www.icd.ca.

The 2009 Fellows were each nominated by peers and chosen by an independent selection committee. The committee considered a number of attributes such as: leadership, accountability to stakeholders, contributions to governance, and knowledge of the business. The caliber of contributions away from the boardroom table, such as published material, speaking engagements and philanthropic endeavors, were also considered.

Previous ICD Fellowship inductees include: William (Bill) Dimma, Chairman Emeritus, Home Capital Group; Donna Soble Kaufman, Director, BCE; Purdy Crawford, Corporate Director; and Guylaine Saucier, Corporate Director.