ICD names recipients of the 2012 ICD Fellowship Awards

Dec 12, 2011

The Institute of Corporate Directors (ICD) is pleased to announce the following four Canadian business leaders as recipients of the 2012 ICD Fellowship Awards: Mr. Richard Drouin, C.C., O.Q., Q.C., Chairman, Stonebridge Financial (Québec, Que.); Ms. Janice G. Rennie, FCA, Director, Teck Resources Limited (Edmonton, Alta.); Mr. Robert Bertram, MBA, CFA, ICD.D, Director, Nexen Inc. (Aurora, Ont.); and Ms. Beverley A. Briscoe, FCA, Director, Goldcorp Inc. (Vancouver, B.C.).

The ICD confers the F.ICD designation annually to a prominent group of directors who exemplify the distinct qualities of good governance in boardrooms across the country.

"The quality of nominations for this year’s awards was excellent, making the selection committee’s task of selecting only four individuals that much harder. The list of highly regarded governance leaders reflects the importance of effective governance, the desire to strengthen it, and the collective appreciation to those who strive for greater accountability and oversight in the boardroom," said ICD Fellowship Nomination Committee Chair Ms Mary Mogford, ICD.D, F.ICD (2002).

The 2012 Fellows were nominated by their peers and chosen by members of the independent Nomination Committee including: Sir Graham Day, F.ICD, Mr. Robert Després, O.C., G.O.Q., F.ICD, Dr. Gail Cook-Bennett, O.C., F.ICD, Mr. James Gray, O.C., A.O.E., LL.D, F.ICD, and Ms. Elizabeth Watson, LL.B, ICD.D. The committee considered a number of attributes such as leadership, accountability to stakeholders, contributions to governance, management relations, enhancing the effectiveness of the board and collegiality. Contributions outside of the boardroom such as published material, speaking engagements, and community involvement were also considered.

The Fellows will be inaugurated at the 15th annual ICD Fellowship Awards Gala on May 30, 2012 in Edmonton. The gala will be held in conjunction with the second annual ICD National Conference. Tickets for the conference and awards gala can be purchased by calling the ICD at 1-877-593-7741 or emailing registrations@icd.ca.

Previous ICD Fellowship inductees include: Ms. Eileen Mercier, MA, MBA, F.ICD, Chair, Ontario Teachers’ Pension Plan (2009); Mr. Purdy Crawford, C.C., Q.C., ICD.D, F.ICD, Corporate Director (1999); and Mr. Hugh Bolton, FCA, F.ICD, Chair, EPCOR Utilities Inc. (2006).